Immigration Reform is not law yet

Senate Passes Immigration Reform Bill

Los Angeles immigration attorneys provide information to clientsThe Senate has passed the immigration reform bill by a vote of 68 to 32. This bill is not law yet. To become law, it must pass in the House of Representatives and be signed into law by the President.

The bill faces strong opposition by the Republicans in the House of Representatives. Speaker John Boehner, the leading Republican in the House of Representatives, has stated that “The House is not going to take up and vote on whatever the Senate passes. For any legislation, including a conference report, to pass the House, it’s going to have to be a bill that has the support of a majority of” Republicans.

The thirty-two Senators who voted against the bill were:

  • Barrasso (Republican-WY)
  • Blunt (Republican-MO)
  • Boozman (Republican-AR)
  • Burr (Republican-NC)
  • Chambliss (Republican-GA)
  • Coats (Republican-IN)
  • Coburn (Republican-OK)
  • Cochran (Republican-MS)
  • Cornyn (Republican-TX)
  • Crapo (Republican-ID)
  • Cruz (Republican-TX)
  • Enzi (Republican-WY)
  • Fischer (Republican-NE)
  • Grassley (Republican-IA)
  • Inhofe (Republican-OK)
  • Isakson (Republican-GA)
  • Johanns (Republican-NE)
  • Johnson (Republican-WI)
  • Lee (Republican-UT)
  • McConnell (Republican-KY)
  • Moran (Republican-KS)
  • Paul (Republican-KY)
  • Portman (Republican-OH)
  • Risch (Republican-ID)
  • Roberts (Republican-KS)
  • Scott (Republican-SC)
  • Sessions (Republican-AL)
  • Shelby (Republican-AL)
  • Thune (Republican-SD)
  • Toomey (Republican-PA)
  • Vitter (Republican-LA)
  • Wicker (Republican-MS)
Publish Date: 
Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 1:45pm to Wednesday, December 31, 2014 - 1:45pm